Making a Tuxedo look sexy takes skill…

And so it begins.  I travel down to South Florida to attend college.  Ah…the college years.  I was just a blond girl raised in the Midwest with hopes of becoming a big shot journalist.  Spending my first year living in college ignorance and bliss, I held off on the part time job hunt.  But then, reality sets in.  Your out of money, you begin having these weird things to pay called bills, and you realize that if you want a new outfit from Forever 21, you are going to need some dough.     Luckily, I chose to go to a college that is one mile from the most wealthy area in America, the wonderful island of Palm Beach.  Now for some, this may mean glamour, high society parties, and couture shopping.  But for us college folks…it is a place to milk the millionaires for all they are worth.  Basically, you can get a serving on the island that pays more then the real life adult job that my honors bio chem cousin graduate got out of college.  So…even though I was loving the college freedom and ignorant bliss, it was time.  Time to Get. A. Job.

I had heard a lot of stories about a certain hotel on the island.  How they pay 9000 dollars an hour, and sometimes, you see famous people.  Sign me up.

Little did I know what I was getting myself into, or that I would stay there for the next three years of my life. 

This blog is an outlet to share some of the ridiculous experiences I had serving the most wealthy people in the country. 

Lets just say, sometimes money makes people crazy.  And boy…we saw crazy.

And there were also the times when I got to meet some pretty important people, and see some pretty amazing things.

However, none of these meetings or occurrences happened without the my trusty sidekick….the tuxedo.

I am a woman.  I swear I am.  But when I first went and picked up my $170 uniform, I quickly realized that my place of employment wants my femininity to be kept secret. 

As I first zipped up the black tuxedo pants that went up over my belly button and far too often fell above my ankles, and struggled to tie a necktie, I realized that at work, all bets are off.  Let the ugliness reign free.

My husband also supported himself through college working the same job.  Do you know what its like getting dressed for work, tiring your necktie in the mirror, and looking over at your handsome spouse and saying “Hey. Nice outfit. We’re Twins.” BAH.

But, like I said, the hotel paid 39483948 dollars an hour, and for a college student, a rented tuxedo is not going to defer you from chasing after that cash.  So, polyester clad, and with my white mickey mouse michael jackson serving gloves on, I started my adventure as a Palm Beach waitress.

Leave a Reply

